Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Mikuni BS40 vs BS40SS Carbs (Read 279 times)
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Mikuni BS40 vs BS40SS Carbs
06/02/17 at 12:14:09

When looking up our carb, I found this:

https://www.oldjapanesebikes.com/mraxl_GT_Resource/manuals/suzigtcarb/index.php

So the BS40 carb was used in the Suzuki GT750, and it looks similar to our carb, but it definitely has differences.

It's hard to keep all this straight as a beginner  Huh

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: Mikuni BS40 vs BS40SS Carbs
Reply #1 - 06/02/17 at 12:20:51

The GT750 was a 3 cylinder motorcycle with a 2 stroke engine.  It has no need for a TEV valve, and the jetting requirements are far different than the Savage.

You could go crazy trying to sort though the different variations of Mikuni carbs, as they are also used on snowmobiles....and I suppose could be used on any engine.  

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
IslandRoad
Serious Thumper

It doesn't vibrate,
it purrs!

The Kiewa Valley, Australia
Reply #2 - 06/02/17 at 13:38:16

I spoke with the guy who supplies jets for the Mikuni carb here in Australia. He gave me an unsolicited opinion: " The best thing you could do to get the most out of the Mikuni carb is pull it out of the bike and tie it to your fishing line, halfway between the hook and the rod! ... now which jets do you want?"

S40, 2014, Dyna, Raptor, 52.5/152.5, spacer mod, sea level, cat-eye LED tail light, bullet style halogen turn signals, 'Superbars' with custom 40mm risers, modified stock seat, Metzeler tyres.
  IP Logged
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Reply #3 - 06/02/17 at 13:54:30

Sentimental moment: This forum is an endless source of wisdom. Much appreciation. Thanks guys Smiley