Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Best Lubricant for Idle Adjust Screw (Read 126 times)
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Best Lubricant for Idle Adjust Screw
05/30/17 at 18:05:43

Forgive me if this is a silly question, but what is the appropriate substance to use if I want to lubricate the idle adjust on the carb?

I have WD40 and PB Blaster on hand, would either of those do, or should I use something else?

Thanks!

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
Gary_in_NJ
Serious Thumper

LS650 Cafe Racer

Amongst the Twisty Roads
Re: Best Lubricant for Idle Adjust Screw
Reply #1 - 05/30/17 at 18:11:24

Clean with carb cleaner. Lube with a shot of white lithium grease.

A life-time student of motorcycling.
LS650 Cafe, DRZ400SM, FZ6N, SV650S, CB900C, Ducati ST2, CB550F-SS
My LS650=> http://suzukisavage.com/yabb2.2/Attachments/Left.JPG
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #2 - 05/30/17 at 19:10:55

WD evaporates
Look for a Zoom Spout oil container.
Mine are OOLD,, they refill and last years.
Your lubricant shelf isn't properly fleshed out yet.
You need Antisieze, too.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Reply #3 - 05/31/17 at 10:40:26

Thanks, guys.

Yeah... I think the root of the question is what are the different kinds of lubricants, how do they work, and when are they appropriate and not appropriate?

I found this article here which I'm enjoying:
http://hackaday.com/2016/05/17/beyond-wd-40-lubes-for-the-home-shop/

Interesting excerpt: