Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
CCT Destruction! (Read 241 times)
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
CCT Destruction!
05/23/17 at 12:51:27

>18mm?

The opening to the adjuster housing got a good thrashing...

And this is the face you make when you can't cry (like when your GF is taking pictures)...

Put me down for 43,838 miles!

The spring came out of the housing, but it appeared to be in good shape - no bends or anything, which leads me to believe it sat in the bottom of the clutch cover (rather than swim around). So I can hope.

So now that I know... where else should I check for damage?

Thanks!

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Re: CCT Destruction!
Reply #1 - 05/23/17 at 13:17:13

Wait... there's a spring lodged inside the plunger...

So can anyone tell me about the spring that did fall out when I removed the clutch cover? Show here beside an 8mm socket for scale:

Thanks!

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
Tocsik
Serious Thumper

the singularity

Denver, CO
Reply #2 - 05/23/17 at 13:27:43

My guess is the spring broke and a few coils are what is lodged inside the plunger.  The rest is what was inside the cover.

Bummer man.  Hope it all turns out OK.

'08|Raptor|Dyna|Stock jets & no other carb changes @ 5280' alt|'slavy CCT|Kawa front pulley|130/90 rear tire|7" LED headlight|3" straight risers|FIAMM El Grande horns|Mutazu hard bags
  IP Logged
norm92de
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

El Paso TX
Reply #3 - 05/23/17 at 14:02:21

Mr. Verslagen is where you need to go.

If there are no other bits floating around you may have dodged a bullet.
Metal in the engine is your worst enemy.

Andy, I hope it all turns out well looks like you may get away with it.

2014 S40. Raptor. idle mixture adj.Needle raised one notch. 4000' altitude. Stock jets. Shell Rotella synthetic.
  IP Logged
norm92de