Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Electrical Meter Product Recommendations (Read 99 times)
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Electrical Meter Product Recommendations
05/13/17 at 20:29:10

Do you have recommendations for whether I should get a voltmeter, or a multimeter

Any specific brands or features that I should seek out... like backlit display, big digits screen, autoranging, input fuse rating for equipment and personal protection?

Is it important to be able to have a unit that can switch test leads to an alligator clip to be able to clamp the lead to a wire I'm testing, giving me a hand free to push the ignition switch, for example? Or is that a fancy extra feature that I can do without?

Thanks for your wisdom! Andy

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
Gary_in_NJ
Serious Thumper

LS650 Cafe Racer

Amongst the Twisty Roads
Re: Electrical Meter Product Recommendations
Reply #1 - 05/14/17 at 04:38:50

Get a multi-meter for the versatility.

Fluke is the industry standard, but good meters can be found for less money. Mine is whatever brand they sell at Lowes. I bought it this year after my Radio Shack unit failed following 30 years of service.

Having several types of leads is helpful, and they can be purchased separately from the meter. Don't choose a meter based on the accessories it comes with. I have clips and sharp probes that can be inserted into connectors.

A life-time student of motorcycling.
LS650 Cafe, DRZ400SM, FZ6N, SV650S, CB900C, Ducati ST2, CB550F-SS
My LS650=> http://suzukisavage.com/yabb2.2/Attachments/Left.JPG
  IP Logged
stewmills
Serious Thumper

Imagination is more
important than
knowledge

Auburn, AL
Reply #2 - 05/14/17 at 05:45:43

I have a Craftsman $20 multimeter and it does great for all my basic home, auto, and motorcycle needs.