Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Newbie here with a tough question (Read 101 times)
catfishunter99
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

WI
Newbie here with a tough question
05/12/17 at 19:49:24

First let me introduce myself.  I am 42 and live in N.E. WI and love working on anything with a motor.  My son recently got me re-interested in bikes with his purchase of a Buell Blast.  In perusing​ the eBay store of a local charity that sells donated vehicles to help fund the organization, I found an 06 S40 in need of TLC with an unknown title history.  Long story short I bought the bike for $326 with a bill of sale only.  The paperwork I received says the title status is junk parts only.
 I spent the day today looking it over changed the oil and cleaned the carb. Dumped a little gas in it and with a loaner battery from my son's bike it fired right up and runs great!  
The question I have now is what do I do next.  I'd really love to get it on the road and use it as a work commuter etc. but the title issue is a problem.  I could part it out and likely get my money back but that's really not me cup of tea.  Another alternative I've been kicking around is finding a donor frame with papers that I could register and switch the major components over.  Looking for some thoughts on the direction I should take.  What do you all think?

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Newbie here with a tough question
Reply #1 - 05/12/17 at 20:33:13

1st thing to do is a vin check, I think they're all on line now.

you may not want to even try to register it.

depending on your laws, you may be paying for several years of unpaid fees.

WWW   IP Logged
Ruttly
Serious Thumper

Thumpers Rule

Manteca , CA
Reply #2 - 05/12/17 at 21:24:36