Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Removing Stuck Bolt on Lower Belt Cover (Read 118 times)
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Removing Stuck Bolt on Lower Belt Cover
05/10/17 at 12:02:45

Hello Suzuki Savage Forum!

I'm a long-time lurker, but this might be my first post.

I'm basically a complete newb when it comes to motorcycle repair, and I'm teaching myself as I go... so here's my first question to the community:

Can you offer any advice on how I can remove the stuck bolt in this 48-second video?

https://youtu.be/wQbWrbOux4k

I was thinking to get a Dremel-like tool and cut a slot in the bolt head, and then try using a flat head screwdriver. I don't own a Dremel-type tool, nor have I ever really worked with one (I've only heard people talk about that method), so if I have to go out and buy the tool, then any pertinent information is also appreciated. Thanks!

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
norm92de
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

El Paso TX
Re: Removing Stuck Bolt on Lower Belt Cover
Reply #1 - 05/10/17 at 12:16:30

First. Patience!

Put some penetrating oil all over the bolt. Then the next day, after the oil has done its work, use a six point socket, carefully making sure that you have the socket square on the bolt head. I think it will come out.

Good luck. And let us know how you got on. Smiley

2014 S40. Raptor. idle mixture adj.Needle raised one notch. 4000' altitude. Stock jets. Shell Rotella synthetic.
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #2 - 05/10/17 at 12:21:33

That's not the correct bolt. I Think it's 4 mm allen wrench .
Some penetrating oil, like PB Blaster, Kroil, something, would probably help.
It's
Buy Tools or pay someone who has them..
And buying is tons cheaper.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged