Send Topic Print
To the tech savvy (Read 86 times)
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
To the tech savvy
02/16/17 at 08:55:45

I have some ideas about what the end of Net Neutrality could bring, but I know how little I really know about these things, so, if someone who has some understanding would please venture over to the Tall Table and indulge in a question and answer, strictly on NN, not about the evils of one party or another, just answer a few questions or point to where answers are to be found, answers that aren't a load of spin and BS.
I don't want to be against something that would be good or for something that I'll regret supporting.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
piedmontbuckeye

Go Bucks!

Easley, SC
Re: To the tech savvy
Reply #1 - 02/17/17 at 13:44:29

While I am no expert, I do try to say politically alert.

My understanding as I have heard some analysts, is that Net Neutrality will ultimately be where some over-riding body of people will determine that anything that is spoken over the net will also have to be offset by supposedly opposite opinions.

Of course, this is prime to become where the power struggle will be - to get control of the oversight board to insure that one's own opinion will be the dominant one and the opponent's will be considered not suitable.

A good example of a bureaucrat's view, was John Kerry's belief that the government should control whose views can be spoken and whose shouldn't.  He had evaluated an opponent's view as "not educated" and therefore should be controlled.  I think at the time, he was referring to those who deny global warming.  

"The difference between death and taxes is that death doesn't change every time congress meets." - Will Rogers
  IP Logged
SALB
Serious Thumper

FSO

Whittier, AK
Reply #2 - 02/17/17 at 14:36:35

net neu·tral·i·ty
noun