My First Savage (Read 338 times)
Savage_AF
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

My First Savage
11/16/16 at 18:03:26

Hello!

First to introduce myself. My name is Alex, I am 26 years old and I live in San Jose, CA, but lived in CT for 25 years. I recently (Sept 2016) took a CHP Motorcycle Training Course and got my M1, so I'm new to 2 wheels. My background is in construction so I have a basic mechanical understanding, but nothing worth writing home about

My tools:
Wrench set
3/8" drive ratchet
Drill
Misc hand tools

I purchased a 1986 Savage, partly due to the knowledge that this forum existed and mainly because it's a cool bike I really wanted to ride. It cold started, idles well in half-choke, isn't leaking oil from the front, only 14K miles and was $1,000 and all the electronics were operational. It needed new tires and brakes.

The day I bought it I was taking it for a lap around my block and the truck in front of me slammed on his brakes to avoid a pedestrian (who saw a can in the road and walked out to get it). The car in the left lane also stopped, I couldn't split the lane quick enough and I ended up between the asphalt and my bike on the left side and slid a bit. The Savage and I got a bit banged up but we came out alright. It was definitely a wake up call to the dangers of 2 wheels and I will forever be more cautious.

New issues due to crash:
-Headlight assembly got wrecked
-Left foot peg is bent
-Turn signals front & back are damaged
-Handlebar is bent
-New tank dents.

I want to make her functional and enjoy riding her. Any help on the following is incredibly appreciated and I would like to thank you in advance. Also if anyone has parts to sell I'd really like to buy them from this community rather than some China site.

So,

I bought a new headlight