Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Twistyturny: cars vs bikes (Read 165 times)
zipidachimp
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

surrey, b.c.
Twistyturny: cars vs bikes
09/16/16 at 01:13:21

Thinking back on my short trip Tuesday, I'm somewhat less than thrilled. This road was re-built for the 2010 winter Olympics and leads to Whistler. I turned around at Squamish after visiting a friend.
I've driven this road in cars and trucks, and at speeds 10% over legal, it's fun if not challenging. On my bike, it's only ho-hum. At 25% over it could be fun, but not if you have to deal with the RCMP.
My theory is this: road curves are designed for cars, that take up all of a lane. Bikes only use up 1/3 of a lane and you can choose whichever part of it for cornering you want, or is comfortable. The corner radius for 2 wheeled fun would scare too many cage drivers. I'm not an engineer so I may be out of my depth here.
I need to find more backbackback country roads! Cheers! Cool
ps: also, there are too many darn cyclists up here!
pps: every second bike in the mountains here is a harley, weird!

IP Logged
Kris01
Serious Thumper

Eat, sleep, RIDE!

Tennessee
Re: Twistyturny: cars vs bikes
Reply #1 - 09/16/16 at 05:03:42

I agree. They are designed mostly for cars. Typically when I see a posted speed recommendation in a corner, I ignore it completely. I can take curves typically 10 mph faster in my car than what the sign says AND I can do it comfortably (like I'm driving to church). The roads are setup to make life easier for idiots who can't drive. There sure are plenty of 'em!

There's no problem that a full tank of gas and a sunny day can't fix!

2008 S40, Rotella T 15W-40 w/ZDDP added, Dyna, 140/90-15, Battery Tender Jr., Seat lift, #52.5/150/3 washers, Raptor
  IP Logged
stewmills
Serious Thumper

Imagination is more
important than
knowledge

Auburn, AL
Reply #2 - 09/16/16 at 06:25:01