Send Topic Print
vibration (Read 111 times)
Dan V.
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

vibration
07/25/16 at 08:52:21

I'm new here, with a question about vibration. I just bought a used 2001 LS650 with 500 miles (not a typo). I just got my motorcycle license, so I'm somewhat new to riding bikes. However, my machine has significant vibration over 20 mph. It feels significant to me, but maybe this is normal for this model.  My LS was in storage for many, years until recently. It was checked over by a dealer before I bought it, and was said to be in good shape. Has a new battery, new carb, but original tires/rims. It starts easily and idles nicely.  Interested in anyone's thoughts.
Thanks much.
Dan
Eagan, MN

IP Logged
Tocsik
Serious Thumper

the singularity

Denver, CO
Re: vibration
Reply #1 - 07/25/16 at 09:00:32

Welcome!
There's a lot that can contribute to vibration.
With your situation, I might wonder if the tires are just really "flat-spotted" from sitting which is probably a stretch considering it's Summer and the warmth + riding should round them out pretty easily.
These big singles will have some vibration but it shouldn't be excessive.
Are there any signs the bike was ever dropped?  
Get the tires in the air and spin 'em and watch for anything "out of round".

You might seriously consider new tires because of their age.  15 years is pretty old for tires and could present a safety risk.  If it were me, I would get new rubber on there just based on age and re-evaluate the vibration.
There will be many more comments coming your way!

'08|Raptor|Dyna|Stock jets & no other carb changes @ 5280' alt|'slavy CCT|Kawa front pulley|130/90 rear tire|7" LED headlight|3" straight risers|FIAMM El Grande horns|Mutazu hard bags
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #2 - 07/25/16 at 09:08:26

At 20 mph, 2nd gear at about 2400 rpm, you shouldn't be vibrating excessively.