Tent suggestions (Read 172 times)
ahusain

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Massachusetts
Tent suggestions
03/23/16 at 12:37:41

Riders who camp -

What kind of tent are you using? Looking for a small 1-2 person tent or bivy. Links or pics would be cool.

Obv something you could carry on a bike. Thanks!

IP Logged
DesertRat
Serious Thumper

I love rat bikes!

Arizona
Re: Tent suggestions
Reply #1 - 03/23/16 at 12:43:00

are trees available? you could go with those tent hammocks ...

-The silence of indifference makes cowards of men.
- http://www.pipeburn.com/home/category/rat
  IP Logged
oldNslow
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Rochester, NY
Reply #2 - 03/23/16 at 16:42:44

I've been using one of these for the past four years.

https://www.backcountryedge.com/backpacking-and-camping-gear/tents/backpackin...

It's a little small for two ( most 2 person backpacking tents are) but is a really nice solo tent.  Strong, shock corded aluminum poles that fold down to about 18". Simple to set up. Free standing. Once it's assembled you can pick the whole tent up and move it around if necessary. I still stake it if there is much wind but it isn't necessary in calm weather. Packs very small. The stuff sack that comes with it is about twice as big as it needs to be. I pack the poles separately and the tent and fly fit in a waterproof stuff sack about about a foot long and 6" in diameter.

I've never carried it on my bike. Most of my camping is either canoeing of backpacking in the Adirondack Mountains, but I'm sure I could carry it and the rest of my backpacking gear on the bike with no problem.

Ventilation is good; lot of the body of the tent is mesh. I've been out in some pretty heavy rain a couple of times and with the fly on, and staked down, it's stayed dry inside.