Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 ... 6
Send Topic Print
Can you say "Paper Thin"? (Read 504 times)
springman
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Spring, Texas
Can you say "Paper Thin"?
02/20/16 at 10:38:05

Hey there everyone. I've been riding the Savage for about four years now and still consider myself a newbie. So, from one newbie to all others, check your front brake pads regularly, they do not last as long as car pads. Visual inspection can be misleading. I do an overall visual inspection about once a month. Last weekend after inspecting the bike it looked like the front brake pads were getting low. I went for a good long ride ordered the pads when I got home and they arrived yesterday.

Today I thought do I go for a ride first or change the pads first? I decided to change the pads. The friction material was paper thin on one pad and though slightly thicker on the other, it was separating from the metal. These were EBC pads that I changed about 13,000 miles ago. Now I know that at 10k miles I better do an extra careful inspection, and what the heck, for the 10-15 bucks that the pads cost, just go ahead and replace them.

Now I will be stopping somewhere to get some brake fluid and bleed the brakes. This was a good educational experience for me, just like when Versy found that my handle bars were loose and he tightened them up for me. Actually since then is when I do my visual inspection every four weeks or so.

Ride safe my friends. Thump on! Smiley

06 S40 seat mod, airhawk, HD muffler, Shinko 712 140-90-15 rear tire, Shinko 230 front tire, versy cam chain tensioner, Rotella oil, Volar brake pads, EBC clutch & springs
  IP Logged
Rambler
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: Can you say "Paper Thin"?
Reply #1 - 02/20/16 at 11:59:21

Good to know

IP Logged
Tocsik
Serious Thumper

the singularity

Denver, CO
Reply #2 - 02/20/16 at 14:58:10

Yeah.  Had to replace mine after 6800 miles.  EBC organics.