Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Idle speed adjustment (Read 145 times)
Rodger

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Idle speed adjustment
12/11/15 at 10:13:32

With 100 miles on the odometer of this new bike, the idle speed seems a bit high. I don't want to adjust it down by ear, though, having read about possible oil pressure issues.

From my days as an auto mechanic, I have a dwell/tach meter, but it is intended for 4-, 6-, or 8-cylinder engines.

Is there a reliable "shade tree" method of determining engine rpm without investing $65 in digital tact (as mentioned in another post here)?

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: Idle speed adjustment
Reply #1 - 12/11/15 at 10:40:12

Well the simplest thing to do....is find a level piece of pavement and allow the bike to idle along in 1st gear.

On level ground, in 1st gear, the bike should be idling along around 9 mph.

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #2 - 12/11/15 at 11:28:48

put it on 4 and multiply the reading by 4.

WWW   IP Logged
DavidP
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #3 - 12/11/15 at 12:02:31

If you are prepared to invest $10 this works well.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/LCD-Digital-Engine-Tach-Hour-Meter-Gauge-for-Racing-M...

I installed one on my gas powered golf cart and 5 years later it is still going strong. All you have to do is wrap the sensor lead three times around your spark plug wire and it will give you the rpm. When you are done unwind it and store it away for another day.

David

IP Logged
Rodger

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #4 - 12/11/15 at 14:55:47

After a 20 mile run, highway speeds & city stop&go, did the idling in 1st trick. Putted along at 8-9 mph.

I'll try the old dwell/tach, too...and $10 isn't outrageous for the tach/hour meter, either. Thanks for the tips.

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?