Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Bad Stator? Coils? Or Fuel (Read 403 times)
troyrr
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Bad Stator? Coils? Or Fuel
11/30/15 at 12:47:02

Five months ago I bought a 1987 Savage from a guy on Craigslist. It has a fresh coat of paint, but was all in pieces. I have slowly put it back together (I've never done anything like this before), and I've hit a few snags here and there, i.e. a few missing cables, screws, bolts, washers, brake pads, etc.

Anyway, its about 90% done. I spent Thanksgiving weekend wrestling with the stock carb. Here's what I've done so far.

- Cleaned the heck out of the carburetor multiple times.
- White spacer mod, including the Ryca jet kit making the Main Jet 55 and the Pilot Jet 150.
- Straight exhaust. Not sure of the brand because I picked it up at Bobs Used Motorcycle Supply here in Phoenix. (Which is a great place to get used parts)
- Raptor Petcock.
- Cone air filter.
- Float needle is new, as are the gasket, jets, and the screws on the top and bottom of the carburetor.
- Adjusted the mixture screw according the the Progressive Guide found on this site. (Many thanks for that BTW!)
- Vacuum line on the carburetor is plugged.

HERE ARE THE SYMPTOMS
The bike starts and runs perfectly... for about 3 seconds. Then it chugs until it dies, which takes another 5-7 seconds.

I haven't had time to test the Coil or the Stator, yet. Although, I have been told it might be bad fuel.

I tested the fuel flow from the Petcock, and it flows beautifully.

Anyway, any help would be appreciated. The weather here is perfect for a good ride, and I'm anxious to get back in the saddle.

Bike_001.jpg
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Bad Stator? Coils? Or Fuel
Reply #1 - 11/30/15 at 12:57:40

If you added a fuel filter in between the petcock and carb, remove it.