Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Help! Fuel starvation or ignition problem? (Read 265 times)
cheapnewb24
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Virginia
Help! Fuel starvation or ignition problem?
11/03/15 at 13:15:44

Hi, I am new to this forum, and apart from college class discussion boards, this is the first public forum I have ever joined. I am new to motorcycling. I took the MSF Basic course and got my license about a month ago. I got an '04 Savage for locally for $1K as my first bike.

The bike is a little beaten up, and sometimes I wish I could have gotten it even cheaper. It needs a neutral switch. The bike has been wrecked, probably multiple times since the pegs on both sides were bent. I guess it is a good thing I did not buy a really good bike since I lowsided it in a curve (10-30 mph) a couple weeks ago on my way to church. The rear tire is an 8 year old Metzler ME880, and the front is a brand new shinko 712 (I think). I had to replace the front tire since it was bald and wouldn't pass VA inspection. I gather that there is a controversy surrounding the belief that new tires are slick. Maybe I was another victim of slick new tire or an old rear--or I just leaned to far entering a curve going too fast  Cheesy. Anyway, I was wearing a leather jacket and plenty of clothes, so I wasn't hurt apart from minor road rash. In fact, I even finished my ride to church Cool. Apart from bending the footpeg (again!) and more scuffs to the bike, the worst thing was that I broke my rear turn signal Angry. I paid $25 for some used signals that went to an old Honda CB 360. They looked pretty good too. Well, that didn't last long. All that money and effort wasted...