Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Removing Saddlebag Brackets (Read 109 times)
sw1991
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Removing Saddlebag Brackets
11/02/15 at 16:12:37

Hey all, first post but I've used this site to do brakes, spark plug, carb clean and rejet, oil changes and a few other things... Great site as I've never done any of this stuff before and had 0 experience working on anything with a motor. I recently ordered a Shinko 712 140/90 tire and have read about issues with them rubbing the saddlebag bolts. I don't use the saddle bags so I'm just going to remove the brackets, but I'm not sure how to get in there and remove the bolts. I can remove the bolts closest to the rear... but I cant fit a wrench in to reach the bolts closer to the front of the bike. Any tips on getting in there without removing the wheel?

IP Logged
old.indian
Serious Thumper

Fighting Foreign
Terrorism since 1492

Central New Mexico
Re: Removing Saddlebag Brackets
Reply #1 - 11/02/15 at 16:27:15

Removing with rear tire in place is easier said than done (experience speaking...) I have NO issues with sidewall clearances using my Michelin 140/90 15 with my saddlebag brackets though.    If you do want to pull the brackets, do it when the new tire is being mounted on the wheel. it'll only take a couple of minutes at that point.  

Lectron carb, modified head, stage 3 cam, Wiseco piston, header and Dyna, Varsi's cam chain adjuster, head plug and drilled rotor, Tkat, 12" shocks and 17/43 chain conversion.EdL's 4"FCs
  IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Reply #2 - 11/02/15 at 16:29:39

If you have a shop do the tire R&R,... I doubt they would mind removing them for you, no charge... it's only a couple bolts...
Wink...

Welcome to the world of posting... beats lurking any day... Smiley...

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
sw1991
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!