Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
hesitation on first accleration (Read 78 times)
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

South of Chicago, the suburbs
hesitation on first accleration
10/27/15 at 11:12:11

Hey gang,
Wondering if this is normal. I get the bike fired up, let it idle and warm up a bit while I get my gear on. Pull out of the driveway but as soon as I start to give it gas, it stumbles a little bit. By the end of my block it's about 99% better and then it just goes normally. Any thoughts?
Jeff

Yeah, like I have any clue what is going on....
http://myrycabuild.weebly.com
  IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: hesitation on first accleration
Reply #1 - 10/27/15 at 11:18:34

If the bike is not fully warmed up....then it is normal.  If the hesitation goes away when the bike is fully warmed up - then don't worry about it.

Carbs are not able to make constant adjustments to the mixture like fuel injection and computer systems can.  The choke is designed to work when the engine is cold - while the carb is jetted to run when the engine is warm.....the time between those two extremes can result in some stumbles or flat spots.  When the engine is not fully warmed up some fuel can condense on the intake manifold and drop out of the flow....and the fuel mixture does drop a down a bit into the lean side for a couple of seconds whenever you open up the throttle - the combination of these 2 issues cause a flat spot for that first mile or two until the engine is fully warmed up.  If the stumble continues once the engine is warm - you need to raise the needle about the thickness of 1 washer (go to 2 washers if you currently have 3 in place of the white spacer).

If your engine doesn't do this when it is cold....it most likely is jetted too rich for proper running when it is fully warmed up.

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
Jeff71