Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Two problems checking valve clearence (Read 129 times)
rong

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Two problems checking valve clearence
09/30/15 at 12:20:32

First of all, sorry for the wordiness.

I am having trouble checking the valve clearance on my S40.  I recently purchased it new and the scheduled maintenance suggests checking the valve clearance at the 600 mile mark.  (A good time to get acclimated to checking the valve clearance on the new bike.)

I've had some earlier experience at checking the clearance for this type of valve set up.  Have checked and adjusted similar types of valves on other bikes in the past.  (Even my current 1980's car has this type of valve adjustment which I do at the scheduled time)

So yesterday, I went through the procedure to check the valve clearance.  Removed the seat, removed the fuel tank, and removed the intake and exhaust valve adjuster covers.  Then I ran into two problems.

Problem 1:

I was unable to remove the valve timing inspection cover (on the left crankcase cover).  My 'tool' was to use a very large washer that I grind down on one side to fit exactly in the 'groove' of the cover.  Then I take a vice grips to hold onto the washer.  Finally, I use a large channel lock pliers to grab the 'vice grips-washer' combination to try to twist it loose (It's provides quite a powerful torque).  Unfortunately, it didn't loosen.  I tried flushing the cover with liquid wrench.  Still didn't work.

I'm at a loss.  The cover has never been removed, and I'm sure that it's way too tight.  The Clymer manual says that there is a Honda tool that can be purchased for this purpose.  Not sure if that is the way out.  

Open to your suggestions.

Situation and Problem 2: