Rear Swing Arm (Read 189 times)
Netroxen
YaBB Newbies

Suzuki bei Tag,
Savage bei Nacht.

Bayern, Germany
Rear Swing Arm
09/21/15 at 09:25:59

I've had a lot of questions the last few days, completely rebuilding the bike and this is my first project so excuse all the questions...

So I just managed to get the engine out and strip everything down to the frame. I need to remove the rear swing arm so that I can sand blast the frame and re-paint it. However there are two silver covers on the swing arm ends and I don't know how to remove them?

Also, I have another problem. On inspection the swing arm has about 5mm of play when moving it. I suppose I need to replace something, but I'm not sure what? Does it use a bearing or solid bolt? If so can you guys tell me the parts I need to replace the swing arm internals?

My many thanks Savage friends!

IP Logged
Gary_in_NJ
Serious Thumper

LS650 Cafe Racer

Amongst the Twisty Roads
Re: Rear Swing Arm
Reply #1 - 09/21/15 at 09:36:22

Those end caps are removed by prying them off. They are just decorative.

If the needle bearing are dry, then that would would cause play to be present. If the bearings are dry, they may no longer be serviceable. If they fall apart as you remove the swingarm bolt you'll need to replace them. Replacement needle bearings are easy to press in.

A life-time student of motorcycling.
LS650 Cafe, DRZ400SM, FZ6N, SV650S, CB900C, Ducati ST2, CB550F-SS
My LS650=> http://suzukisavage.com/yabb2.2/Attachments/Left.JPG
  IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Reply #2 - 09/21/15 at 10:11:08

I believe the needle bearings are in the frame on the Savage...the swing arm doesn't have any bearings in it.

Most likely you can drive the bearings out of the frame if they need to be replaced...the parts list shows they are available.

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
Netroxen
YaBB Newbies

Suzuki bei Tag,
Savage bei Nacht.

Bayern, Germany