Send Topic Print
Valve noise (Read 160 times)
Chase

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Cape May NJ
Valve noise
09/05/15 at 05:29:20

adjusted valves and change from t6 to t rotella not solving issue of the valve noises I'm hearing so I am wondering if that is normal volume of noise any s40 or savage should have.

I know a couple people on forum are from NJ any chance you are going roar to shore this coming weekend and could take a listen?

In progress bob : Z bars, Versy Adjuster, Drag pipes, Biltwell Slimline seat, Mini Batt, KN Filter, 454 front pulley mod.
  IP Logged
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

South of Chicago, the suburbs
Re: Valve noise
Reply #1 - 09/05/15 at 08:46:07

From all I read, it's supposed to sound a bit like a sewing machine. Smiley Mine has only around 1,700 miles, used Rotella and it sounds just like that at cruising speeds.
Jeff

Yeah, like I have any clue what is going on....
http://myrycabuild.weebly.com
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #2 - 09/05/15 at 08:53:32

WWW   IP Logged
Kris01
Serious Thumper

Eat, sleep, RIDE!

Tennessee
Reply #3 - 09/06/15 at 09:26:20

She's a noisy beast! You can try to quieter her but she'll probably complain.  Wink Cheesy

There's no problem that a full tank of gas and a sunny day can't fix!

2008 S40, Rotella T 15W-40 w/ZDDP added, Dyna, 140/90-15, Battery Tender Jr., Seat lift, #52.5/150/3 washers, Raptor
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #4 - 09/06/15 at 12:24:47

If you adjust the valves toward the tight side of the tolerances, it'll be a bit quieter. If you get rid of the racket, it'll burn valves...
I played on the tight side, but I was very meticulous, triple checking, and leaving the feeler gauge in as the final snugging down was done, so I could feel the drag on it..
Takes three tiny hands to pull it off, or so it seems..