linwiz
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Richmond, KY
Chain tensioner
08/22/15 at 08:40:09

Hello all.
I am very new to bikes, and new to riding. I got my 96 LS650 a few weeks ago (and haven't rode yet!) and I am wondering if there is a way to check the chain tensioner without having to have a new gasket for reassembly?

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: Chain tensioner
Reply #1 - 08/22/15 at 08:48:45

You have to take off the clutch cover.  Most times it will not come off without tearing the gasket someplace.  It is better to have a new gasket just in case......

How many miles are on the bike?  Between 10,000 and 20,000 miles is the point that we expect the cam chain problem to first show up.  If  the previous owner rode hundreds of miles every time he fired up the bike......it might go longer - but the only way to know is to look.

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #2 - 08/22/15 at 08:58:29

If you have one of those video inspection scopes maybe you can poke it in thru the oil fill port, but there's not much room for it.

WWW   IP Logged
linwiz
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Richmond, KY
Reply #3 - 08/22/15 at 09:07:21

Dave wrote on 08/22/15 at 08:48:45:
You have to take off the clutch cover.  Most times it will not come off without tearing the gasket someplace.  It is better to have a new gasket just in case......

How many miles are on the bike?  Between 10,000 and 20,000 miles is the point that we expect the cam chain problem to first show up.  If  the previous owner rode hundreds of miles every time he fired up the bike......it might go longer - but the only way to know is to look.