Send Topic Print
Oil Leak (Read 54 times)
Daniel1990
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Oil Leak
07/24/15 at 13:13:46

Hey Guys, New to the forum and first time rider this summer.  Picked up and 83 Savage, with now 16,000 miles on it.  Runs like a champ and have had no problems with it.  

Only issue is that I have a pretty consistent oil leak.  It never really seems to add up to much but when I shut it down i'll tend to find 3-5 oil drips below the bike.  The leak slows as it cools but i'll still find oil spots.

So is this something to worry about or should I just accept it since its an older bike?  Anyone else find this?  Im still very new to bikes and the mechanics but I'm learning.  Thanks for any help

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: Oil Leak
Reply #1 - 07/24/15 at 13:18:30

If the drip is at the front of the bike, check that the bolts holding the footpeg mounts are tight.  The engine case can leak if the bolts are loose.

If the drip is from the rubber tube from the air cleaner box - it is supposed to have a plug in that tube.  The air cleaner box has a reservoir to catch any oil mist that comes from the engine breather.  You only remove the plug when you do an oil change and drain the reservoir in the Air cleaner.

If the drip is from the front pulley area, you better check and make sure your pulley nut is tight.  If the nut is loose the shaft can become worn, and the engine will be effectively ruined.  (Unless you are the type that likes removing the engine and splitting the cases to put in a new transmission shaft).

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #2 - 07/24/15 at 13:36:04

Daniel1990 wrote on 07/24/15 at 13:13:46: