Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Bike Master aftermarket turn signal installation (Read 183 times)
denistheruski
YaBB Newbies

2005 Suzuki Savage

Austin, TX
Bike Master aftermarket turn signal installation
06/14/15 at 11:39:58

Hey all. I bought these Bike Master turn signals, hoping to replace my OEMs on the rear: http://www.motorcycle-superstore.com/44761/i/bikemaster-spear-led-turn-signals. The site said they're compatible but I'm finding that's not quite the case. Has anyone installed these as rear signals?

I'm still learning my way around the bike and trying to learn how to make these kinds of mods. I have a decent set of tools but not any kind of sophisticated garage or anything.

Anyway - any help is appreciated! Thanks.

IP Logged
old.indian
Serious Thumper

Fighting Foreign
Terrorism since 1492

Central New Mexico
Re: Bike Master aftermarket turn signal installati
Reply #1 - 06/14/15 at 16:29:26

You should be fine. I had a broken stem on my rear turn signals and replaced them with after market units.  The hardest part was getting the factory units off.  Take the seat off and do one side at a time. You will want to reuse the original wires and connectors by splicing the "new" units into the old wires. (Black goes to Black) Make certain that there are no bare wire to get shorted or wet, test before you button every thing up and Bob's your uncle.  If you have a friend who has some experience wiring, bribe them with a cold one to look over your shoulder the first time.    I had to use rubber grommets to get mine to fit properly .   Patience is the key....          

Lectron carb, modified head, stage 3 cam, Wiseco piston, header and Dyna, Varsi's cam chain adjuster, head plug and drilled rotor, Tkat, 12" shocks and 17/43 chain conversion.EdL's 4"FCs
  IP Logged
koehlerrk

One cylinder to rule
them all...

East of Keuka Lake NY
Reply #2 - 06/14/15 at 16:49:06

OK, areas of concern...