Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
gas flood engine? (Read 155 times)
Boogieman

Bang! Bang!

NORCAL
gas flood engine?
06/11/15 at 20:52:38

hey...is it possible for gas to flow (like sitting overnight) from the tank down into the bowl of the carb, then into the cylinder and eventually mix with the oil? im having some strange stuff happen with this carb. I'll more know tomorrow when I do an oil change.

the hose coming off my crankcase breather dealy was kinked and when I unkinked it gasoline dripped out. i wish i cud find a small cone filter breather for it. it spits oil and i dont have a nice place for this hose.

So I installed an inline fuel filter and noticed that when I first installed it I had quite a problem getting any gas to flow then as I started riding it it started to fill up more and then overnight it filled up three quarters of the way. when I tried to start it this morning it smelt a lot of gas and it took a long time to light. no choke

'03 LS 650 bobber - Highly modified...crashed it.
  IP Logged
Matt_greatlakesstate

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Midland, MI
Re: gas flood engine?
Reply #1 - 06/11/15 at 21:03:40

Test your petcock first for the fuel problem. The hose that comes off the head should be vented back into your airbox. The oil in the airbox should be drained when doing an oil change.

IP Logged
Steve H
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Spartanburg, SC
Reply #2 - 06/12/15 at 02:49:18

Yes.  It is possible for the crankcase to fill with gas.

It is the result of a float valve problem.  Your float needle isn't seating all the way and is still allowing gas to flow into the carb.

If you still have your stock petcock, it has failed.  Fix your carb and either repair the petcock or replace it with a raptor petcock.

If you already have a raptor, turning off the petcock would have prevented this.  You still would have the carb problem. Just the symptom would not have shown itself.  Fix your carb.