Exhaust question (Read 354 times)
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

South of Chicago, the suburbs
Re: Exhaust question
Reply #15 - 05/08/15 at 16:02:40

That video is killing me!!!! Grin
Jeff

Yeah, like I have any clue what is going on....
http://myrycabuild.weebly.com
  IP Logged
WD
Serious Thumper
2005 No Login

Professional
"scooter
trash".

Rosemark TN
Reply #16 - 05/08/15 at 23:54:38

12 inch glasspack (no packing) and a 29 inch long fishtail pipe after it. Long weld in "stick stopper" (chopper) baffle tube at the end of the round section. Sounds like a real deal English thumper circa 1940s to mid 1960s.

A 38 inch long piece of chain link fence top rail, angle cut to 75 degrees, makes a Savage sound EXACTLY like a single engine Huey UH-1... and will set off car alarms in a 50 foot radius.  Grin

On 2 wheels since 7/87

Black and Chrome 2003 1950s style custom
  IP Logged
Rylee

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Long Beach California
Reply #17 - 05/09/15 at 00:29:13

I started with a RYCA header and 19" reverse cone muffler on the bobber. Swapped it out for a custom setup. Started with a 6" baffle welded in mid pipe and it was perfectly quiet but to much baffle and I lost most of my mid to top end response. Tore it apart 3 times relocating and shortening the baffle and never found that sweet spot.

image_259.jpg

96 Bobber
  IP Logged
Rylee

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Long Beach California
Reply #18 - 05/09/15 at 00:33:06

Tired of cutting open the exhaust to "adjust" the baffle I decided to 90 thru the frame and dump out the left side. Ended up with 30" of pipe length and settled with a slightly drilled out crumb cup. And it's perfect. Just the right sound without having that drum thumping back tone or rasp yet loud enough to hear me coming. The crumb cup gave me the right amount of baffling that I only had to adjust the idle mix screw a tad bit.

image_260.jpg

96 Bobber
  IP Logged
Rylee

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Long Beach California
Reply #19 - 05/09/15 at 00:34:46