Send Topic Print
LED turn signal relay (Read 157 times)
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

South of Chicago, the suburbs
LED turn signal relay
05/05/15 at 23:31:22

Hey gang,
Got most of the wiring figured out on the Ryca, BUT here is the thing I noticed. I think that since I went with the bar end lights (LED) I'm not getting enough resistance. Now my setup is a little different. I have the bar end lights, but it also is wired to the Acewell gauge that shows left and right. I also wired the center tank mounted light to flash when either left or right is blinking. Here is where it gets confusing for me. If I unplug the tank light, the bar lights stay on steady (or are possibly flashing REALLY fast), but as soon as I connect the tank light, they flash normally. But when I don't have the bar lights on, the tank light is still flashing! Cheesy Am I wrong thinking that the dash light is working as a resistor? Should I replace the turn signal relay with a LED flasher? Any suggestions as to which one? I'd be happy to show you how I wired it if that would help. I still have to hook up the Ryca tail light, plus the added LED tail lights (Like Bob's)and strobe brake light. (Like Dave's) Smiley
Jeff

Yeah, like I have any clue what is going on....
http://myrycabuild.weebly.com
  IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: LED turn signal relay
Reply #1 - 05/06/15 at 03:16:20

The tank light is a conventional bulb....so it is requiring enough current to allow the flasher to operate.  The LED's by themselves don't have enough of a load to make the flasher work.

Buy any 2 connector electronic flasher and wire it in to the 2 wires that go to the stock flasher.  You can get electronic 2 wire flashers that are a universal fit at any auto parts store.