Battery shorting (Read 65 times)
killsport
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
helps me. Not my
wife.

Battery shorting
01/10/15 at 18:19:38

had a great ride today and stopped to add fuel. Tried to start and nothing. No lights. No click. I have a battery tender on it, and I cant imagine that the battery went completely dead in an hour.
I was able to wiggle the red side of the battery connection and get lights but not enough juice to start. Managed to jump start and limp home. I don't want this to happen again. Any ideas on what my options are?
I was thinking I could put in a physically smaller/shorter battery in the same box. I would put in better insulation around the red terminal, but it is so tight in there even after taking off the seat... Suggestions? Anyone else have this issue? Know anyone who did?
Thanks! (2011 stock with 5500 miles)

2011 S40 stock... And I'm a newbie no matter what my rating is!
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: Battery shorting
Reply #1 - 01/10/15 at 19:16:34

Voltmeter,, know what the battery is.

Wiggled the red side? Was it LOOSE?

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
killsport
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
helps me. Not my
wife.

Reply #2 - 01/10/15 at 19:21:47

It was loose. But it's the 3rd time it's come loose in 2 weeks. If I put in a shorter/smaller battery I can do some electrical tape to ensure no shorting. Or, is there something else I can do to avoid the loosening?

IP Logged
12Bravo
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Mid-Missouri
Reply #3 - 01/10/15 at 20:00:12

Use a star washer (lock washer) on the battery terminals if they are coming loose. I've never had a problem on my S40 but terminals coming loose is quite common on the Intruder/S50. I had to use star washers on my 88 750

No Child Should Live In Fear!!!
'Keepers of the children'
http://www.bacaworld.org

IP Logged
gizzo
Serious Thumper