Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Cams/Valve health, and mechanical advice (Read 153 times)
JonBiddle
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Cams/Valve health, and mechanical advice
12/27/14 at 12:01:13

About my bike:

Year: 1995 LS650
Mileage: 5,800 (200 of these are mine)
Cam Tensioner measurement: 16.5mm
Compression: 155psi
Pictures!!: http://imgur.com/a/9a06P

This is my first year owning a motorcycle, and also my first time diving into engine mechanics, so I'm still cutting my teath in both respects.

Over last season, I felt like my bike sounded great for the first 10 minutes of riding, but after that, I could hear a faint clicking/knocking sound in the top of the engine. While the sound is not nearly as dramatic as the "Loose cam chain" videos on youtube, I'm wondering if my tensioner is nearing the end of its limits and just starting to show systems of a loose cam chain.

Also while I was in there I noticed some marking on the cam shaft and cams themselves, and wondering if that's normal for the mileage/year of the motorcycle... or does this indicate that one of the previous owners ran the bike without enough oil, or perhaps with too low of an idle? (16.5mm tensioner extension seems high for the mileage from what I've read).

Looking for any tips/advice from veterans to point me in the right direction, and help me learn more about my new hobby.

Right now my current plan is to:

* Install a verslavy tensioner
* Re-torque head bolts since I'm in there
* Adjust valve clearance

Thanks for taking the time to give this a look!

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: Cams/Valve health, and mechanical advice
Reply #1 - 12/27/14 at 15:40:02

Use a good quality oil with zddp content...
Car oils don't have it any more...
Most of us use Shell Rotella diesel oil... synth or dino...