Rough clutch (Read 200 times)
killsport
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
helps me. Not my
wife.

Rough clutch
12/17/14 at 05:36:24

My clutch seems to be rough. By that, I mean that it does shift ok, it just takes a little/lot more effort than my friend's Savage.  Sometimes getting into 1st takes 2 or 3 attempts (particularly when at a stop/neutral).
Could it be caused by the "wrong" oil and fixed with new (Rotella) oil? (I'm pretty sure the previous owner put in Yamalube)
Should I be adjusting the clutch cable? If so, does it matter if I do it at the handlebar, or down below?
Thanks!
2011 S40 with (now) 5200 miles.

2011 S40 stock... And I'm a newbie no matter what my rating is!
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Rough clutch
Reply #1 - 12/17/14 at 07:32:07

when's the last time you lubed it?

WWW   IP Logged
killsport
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
helps me. Not my
wife.

Reply #2 - 12/17/14 at 08:03:04

The answer is never. I've only had it for 600 miles (8 weeks). Forgive my ignorance, but when you say lube, do you mean change the oil (plan to at 6000 miles)? Or is there another maintenance procedure I should be doing? If there is, can you point me to the best posting describing how to do it? Thanks in advance, and again, apologies for being... well... stupid.

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Reply #3 - 12/17/14 at 08:49:22

I don't know how or why this is,.. but I can feel a difference in shifting after someone else has ridden my bike or driven my car...
It takes some time before things settle back to normal...

Try to make smooth shifts, and find the sweet spots of rpm and foot pressure...  Working with the machine will make shifts smoother over time...
Perhaps the previous owner was a brute and forced shifts instead of using feel...

... You might also check the shift lever adjustment... Grin...