Stalling when cold (Read 112 times)
killsport
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
helps me. Not my
wife.

Stalling when cold
11/15/14 at 09:26:20

Hi all... In sunny south florida, it's about 65 to 70 in the morning (not gloating). Still, when I start my 2011 s40 (5000 miles) it seems to have a very low idle. When I drive it, it accelerates fine, but when I put in the clutch to coast at a stop sign, it stalls. After 5-10 minutes, everything is perfect and the idle is smooth.

If I use the choke for 10-15 seconds at start, it increases idle temporarily but doesn't solve the issue. Is this normal? Should I just warm it up for 10 mins in the driveway? Is there some other adjustment I should make?

Thanks!

2011 S40 stock... And I'm a newbie no matter what my rating is!
  IP Logged
bobert_FSO

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Wichita KS
Re: Stalling when cold
Reply #1 - 11/15/14 at 10:01:00

Leave the choke (enrichment) out for the 10 min it apparently needs. Go ahead and ride with the choke out during that time. Half way out should be enough. You won't hurt anything and it will keep the idle up. Don't forget to push the choke in when warmed up.

Those S40's with the ultra-lean idle settings might need that.  They can be very cold-blooded. I looked at one that would barely run when cold without a choke, even at 70 degrees outside. I put a larger idle jet (can't remember the size, but it was the next size up) in my 2001 Savage, and it would start and run well without choking all the way down to 50 degrees F. It was probably a little rich under normal operating temps, but it also didn't backfire under deceleration or during shutdown.

IP Logged
Kris01
Serious Thumper

Eat, sleep, RIDE!

Tennessee
Reply #2 - 11/15/14 at 10:27:15

I haven't rejetted mine yet and it runs at a pretty low idle when cold with no choke. I pull the choke out one notch and just leave it there. It runs pretty good at all temps like this. Probably runs a little bit rich at warmer temps though.