Send Topic Print
dent removal (Read 139 times)
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

South of Chicago, the suburbs
dent removal
11/09/14 at 12:46:08

Hey gang,
In your opinions, what would be the better approach to removing this dent? I've already taken the paint off of it. I was considering either the slow epoxy puller thing or trying the hair dryer/ compressed air trick. It's a soft dent, only about .4" deep, no creases, about 2.5 x 2" across.

Jeff

Yeah, like I have any clue what is going on....
http://myrycabuild.weebly.com
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: dent removal
Reply #1 - 11/09/14 at 13:17:08

Be real careful with compressed air, you don't want to be wearing that tank.  My company makes high pressure ducting and we test them with high pressure air under water.  When they let go, they open up like a flower and then there's no water in the tank.  That flower is like a ninja star that'll tear you in 2.

I've been thinking of pulling dents with vacuum.
Take an aluminum plate large enough to cover the dent and then some.
Make up some plaster, and use a good tank as a form.
cover it with saran wrap, put a dollop of plaster on the plate and apply it to the good tank.  let it set up.
drill a hole thru the center of the plate so you can attach whatever vacuum source you have.
put the plate on the dented tank, you may have to seal the edges and apply the vacuum.
That's only 15 psi, but you won't blow up anything doing that.

WWW   IP Logged
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

Reply #2 - 11/09/14 at 13:22:16

The compressed air is the cans of air you flip over to cool the metal quickly, making the metal contract and pop the dent out. Youtube it, it seems to work. I'm not looking for perfect here, just out more then I can body filler over a smaller area. Smiley
Jeff

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #3 - 11/09/14 at 13:32:16