Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 4 
Send Topic Print
Headlight mods. (Read 1601 times)
GridMonkey

Albany NY
Re: Headlight mods.
Reply #30 - 11/09/14 at 20:21:56

Hey, old_rider, im not so sure you got that on there right. That adapter ring should replace the one that comes attached on the shaft of the led. Should be a silver screw that you would undo and then replace with the adapter ring that fits your housing. I didn't get a pic of that on my install, sorry. I worry that, while it does seem pretty bright, the LED's themselves are not in the focus point of your reflector. I put the spring in front of the adapter before inserting it into the reflector housing. Give your light a check at distance on a wall., if the beam  seems to have a hollow spot on it in the middle then you'll need to change that out to be the right ring. If there isn't, well, huh, guess it works pretty well that way too. I work as a stage lighting tech, optics and focus points are things i deal with daily so that's why i suggest checking this, if the filament/LED isn't in that sweet spot, its asking for trouble.

Thanks for the shout out btw Smiley

Luke

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #31 - 11/09/14 at 20:28:52

Yep, I took off the ring that was installed and replaced it with the correct one.  
And secured it with the screw.  No spring.  
Then locked it in place with the clip just like the stock bulb.

WWW   IP Logged
old_rider
Serious Thumper

Backyard Bill
Productions

flordia panhandle
Reply #32 - 11/09/14 at 21:18:23

Gotcha...

Was wondering why it fit so weird.... i'll redo the video....

The hard part is done already Smiley

Spring kicked my butt.... its too tall, bent it a bit.... might try something different.

How in the world did you make it fit?

Video sucked.... might just try an explanation one tomorrow....to tired now. Tongue