Pages: 1 2 3 4 
Send Topic Print
cocked the gun (Read 743 times)
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

South of Chicago, the suburbs
Re: cocked the gun
Reply #30 - 10/16/14 at 14:38:25

Just swapped the battery out and as I was measuring stuff, my Raptor arrived. Since the battery was out I got the petcock in..in about 15 minutes, including draining the tank!
The new battery took a little work getting spacers and padding in the battery box as the size was a touch smaller. Notice the PO's lovely decal on the old battery. Grin
I put the key in and I think the headlight burned a hole in the wall. The old battery was SERIOUSLY on it's way out! I bumped the starter and it REALLY turned over! I'll take it out tomorrow for a spin and do an oil change then. Cool
Jeff

Yeah, like I have any clue what is going on....
http://myrycabuild.weebly.com
  IP Logged
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

Reply #31 - 10/23/14 at 22:25:32

Did my first oil change today. Went smooth other than the PO cranking the drain bolt on too tight. My 14mm wrench scraped the flats off a bit. Made a 9/16 closed end work. (My closed-end 14mm, where did you go?) The oil looked like a thick Guinness. Huh Drove it about 30 minutes beforehand, changed it, then went out for another 30. Took it to the local park (that was empty) and did some S curves and practice turns; just getting a better feel of things. Actually scraped the peg at one point. Smiley
It still has a little hesitation but I know it needs some quality miles put on it. The hardest thing I found is that it doesn't want to go under 15MPH without feathering the clutch. Smiley
The weather is supposed to be nice this weekend. Have to go fill the tank and get some more miles on it.
Jeff

IP Logged
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

Reply #32 - 10/27/14 at 17:51:48