Send Topic Print
baby black widows (Read 192 times)
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
baby black widows
09/15/14 at 08:53:26

Ever wondered what they look like? I have. I found a big fat female out by the shop. I hunted around the grass and weeds close to where I found and killed her. I found an egg sack,but couldn't be sure it was hers. I put it in a tin can with a threaded lid that came with pellets in it. I've been keeping it to put cool bugs in for a few years. It has air holes and I use it to show the grandson interesting critters. Any way,it hatched and a Bunch of little spider babies came out. They were not black. Kinda tan,with a black dot on the very top of the rear end. BUT,I wasn't sure if they had been the babies of that black widow... So,I watched them. I have a magnifying lens from a copier.. I never saw them change,because I found another black widow sitting on 3egg sacks,so,I killed all the babies I had,cleaned the can up,and put them in and waited..  Well,Lo and Behold,out came a Ton of baby black widows,,and they are tan, with a dot on the rear end. I'm certain that these are black widows because I have had them long enough to see a couple of them develop the hourglass on the abdomen. It's hard to see,but I can just barely see it on a couple of them. I squirt a little water through an airhole when they need it,but I'm not gonna open it up and try to feed them. They are eating each other and I will wait until there is ONE left. I wanna see how big it is when the rest have all been eaten. Maybe the last 2 will kill each other..
Just guessing,I'd say that by finding those egg sacks I avoided having a couple of hundred really nasty spiders around.
People should know what they look like,even as babies.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
prechermike
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Kalashna Kitty, from
Skat

Ponzer, NC
Re: baby black widows