Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Jetting for ethenol vs straight fuel? (Read 74 times)
Knucklehead
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Jetting for ethenol vs straight fuel?
08/06/14 at 11:38:14

I'm a newbie to the Savage and am waiting on my jet kit to arrive.  Is the jetting different for ethenol vs straight / real fuel?

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: Jetting for ethenol vs straight fuel?
Reply #1 - 08/06/14 at 13:32:59

Well yes and no.

Ethanol fuel requires a tiny, weeny bit more fuel to mix with the gas than straight gas.  If you ride your bike and jet it so that it runs perfect on straight gas....it is gonna be a tiny bit lean on fuel with 10% ethanol.  If you jet your bike for ethanol laced pump gas.....it is going to be a bit rich when you run straight gas.

Fuel injected engines can adapt to the different fuels - engines with carbs can't.  I have a generator that was made when fuel did not have ethanol in it, and the generator has a feature that allows it to go back to idle if there is no electricity being used.  The engine was made just before the ethanol fuel came out - but late enough that the EPA was able to eliminate the mixture adjustment screws on the carb - so the main and idle mixtures cannot be adjusted.  If I run the engine on pure gasoline, the engine comes off idle and speeds up as soon as you squeeze the trigger on the drill, saw, etc.  If I run 10% ethanol pump gas in the generator, when it tries to come off idle it is running too lean and it stalls.

So...the bottom line is that if you ride this motorcycle around and need to get pump gas, then jet it to run well on pump gas.  If you then run pure gas, it will be just a slight bit richer....and probably a bit more powerful.  (If you jet it to run on pure gas - it will be just a bit lean when you run pump gas....and that is not good!).