Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Preventing license plate trashing on a Ryca (Read 92 times)
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

South of Chicago, the suburbs
Preventing license plate trashing on a Ryca
08/04/14 at 16:50:59

Hey gang,
As you know I'm the expert on Rycas (HA!) and I was looking at the license plate clearances. I liked what GyroBob did (page 16 #238 of the double ryca build) but it gave me an idea. Instead of bending the license plate, could you cut the bracket straight across, right above the three holes. http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh253/Gyrobob_theOriginal/Motorcycle/RYCA%...  and install a hinge. Now where the hinge for his storage compartment is http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh253/Gyrobob_theOriginal/Motorcycle/RYCA%... would hinge the license plate back and forth. I'd install a stopper behind the hinge so it wouldn't swing down BUT I would install a small bracket behind the plate down to a small nylon wheel just behind and below the plate. This would be so when the suspension would go up, it would hit the wheel but allow the plate to go up and pivot away from the tire. I would put a small retention spring so it would pull back on the stop and keep it from flopping. You guys see what I'm talking about?

Jeff

Yeah, like I have any clue what is going on....
http://myrycabuild.weebly.com
  IP Logged
LANCER
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Savage Beast
Performance Parts

Oklahoma
Re: Preventing license plate trashing on a Ryca
Reply #1 - 08/04/14 at 17:44:53

Interesting idea.

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Reply #2 - 08/04/14 at 17:55:07

... or just side mount the plate... Huh...

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
copterdoc

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

South of North.
Reply #3 - 08/04/14 at 18:17:30

side mount

image_177.jpg

2000 S40 RYCA conversion built in 2011.
  IP Logged
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!