Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Won't start in cooler weather. (Read 157 times)
stonetree
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Won't start in cooler weather.
08/04/14 at 09:40:02

I purchased a 2003 Savage at the beginning of summer. I recently started riding it to work occasionally. On cool mornings, around 60 degrees or cooler, the bike does not want to start. (Yes, I use the choke.) It tries to turn over but doesn't quite make it. I only hold the start button in for maybe 3-4 seconds a try so the starter doesn't overheat. I get maybe 2-3 tries to start it before the battery doesn't have enough juice to even try to turn it over.

I've been testing the battery to see if it's good. And, I've had it on a battery tender when it's going to be a cool night. After being on the battery tender, it checks in at around 13.10 volts. If I leave it off the battery tender, the charge only drops to around 12.9 volts after 3-4 days. Since the battery seems to keep a charge, I would think the battery is okay.

After riding it, the battery shows around 13.4 volts, so I know it's charging.

There's no problem starting it in warmer weather (above 70) without using the choke.

Could it still be the battery?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Won't start in cooler weather.
Reply #1 - 08/04/14 at 09:42:47

what's the voltage while starting?

could be you don't need to choke it?

WWW   IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Reply #2 - 08/04/14 at 09:45:19

If you can,.. try jumping it from a car battery, on one of these cool mornings... (do not have the car engine running, it's alternator output can damage your bike's electrics)...

If it starts well with a jump,.. you need a new battery...