Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
To Wrench or Not to Wrench (Read 268 times)
ByMySword
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: To Wrench or Not to Wrench
Reply #15 - 08/01/14 at 07:59:59

Seaweednh wrote on 08/01/14 at 07:21:03:
Fair enough, we all had to learn at some time.  My concern is that you are on two wheels and asking whether you should tackle it or not means your not sure of yourself.  My concern is your personal safety doing the tires and brakes,  With that said, please buy a service manual for your bike.  It does give step by step instructions on what you want to do. I've been turning wrenches for over 40 years, made more mistakes than I care to count, mainly in my younger years.  Once again, my only concern is your personal safety, nothing else,

You're right, I'm not sure and I don't want to do something unsafe. I've never been very dexterous, unfortunately. I do have the Clymer Service Manual, though. I'm still in my younger years, I guess, and I'm okay with making mistakes, I just don't want those mistakes to threaten my safety or my wallet. Thank you for your input.

I also realized I missed your initial question of my location. I'm located in the Houston area.

IP Logged
ByMySword
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #16 - 08/01/14 at 08:08:33

HondaLavis wrote on 08/01/14 at 07:47:21:
CCT = Camchain tensioner.

Front brakes require you only to remove the caliper.  You might take an hour or two if it's your first time and you're drinking a lot of beer. That is definitely something you should wrench yourself.