Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Newbie Question - Helmet, Accesories and more (Read 179 times)
Ram
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Newbie Question - Helmet, Accesories and more
07/20/14 at 17:54:42

a newbie here ... bought S40 2 months back .. and been trying it out on the interior roads ...

I have couple of questions that I would need help understanding from the experts here Smiley

1. Helmet - Could you suggest a good helmet with less wind noise. I am currently using a bilt. It is not bad, but I would like to reduce it further. I bought a BT helmet from Cycle gear, but the wind noise on that gave me bad headache (and it has been returned). Any suggestion for a good BT helmet welcome too

2. Windshield: I fit the original suzuki windshield. But that caused too much wind buffeting and moved my helmet a lot (along with more wind noise). I assumed it was because of the height. any recommendation for a taller windshield ?

3. I am in CA .. and in the bay area. I would like to take my motor cycle on the freeway, but apparently everyone on the road wants to drive faster. Is it okay if I drive around 55-60mph ? (this is the speed that S40 seems to be comfortable with).

4. I would like to shop/travel with the bike, and would like to have suggestions for a good saddle bag/mounting kits.

5. Why is it very difficult to get it to first gear .. It is too difficult sometimes (and makes noise) that I am worried I am going to break it ...

6. is there a way to lock the helmet to the bike ?  

It is a new 2013 model, and I have done around 400 miles on it tlll now.

IP Logged
jman

Central Wisconsin
Re: Newbie Question - Helmet, Accesories and more
Reply #1 - 07/20/14 at 18:20:35

Helmet: I use an Icon Airframe.  I only use Snell rated helmets, due to the higher standards of the Snell rating compared to DOT.