Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Stalling during Deceleration (Read 178 times)
luckylouie82

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Richardson Texas
Stalling during Deceleration
06/18/14 at 10:45:28

Hello forum.  I'm new to the Suzuki Savage and based on my luck in the last year wth two clunker bikes I'm starting to wonder if God just doesn't want me to ride!

So I bought a 2011 S40 from a dealer having only seen pictures.  bike looked pristine and only had 1600 miles.  I read up on the backfire issues some folks have had and thought thats nothing a turn of the pilot screw can fix.  

When I got the bike I noticed the brass cap to the pilot screw was already removed, presumably by previous owner.  So I decided to ride it. Maybe they already fixed the lean issue.  Anyway they may have done more harm than good if they did work on it.  The symptoms are as follows.

Cold start, bike will idle fine and smooth.  Start ridingafter warming up a minute or two. no trouble.  Coming up to a stop, travelling 40 to 50mph, pull in clutch, decelerating...dies...restart, won't idle, have to twist throttle to keep it alive.  Get bike home and I go through the song and dance of adjusting pilot screw to find highest idle.  adjust idle speed to a nice even putputput (No tach so rpm is a guess).  Shut her down.  Next morning I think I've got things fixed....and the same situation!  Almost like a gremlin is sneaking into my garage and resetting what I'd done.  I'm wondering if idle speed too low? petcock fried? The only thing I know it's not for sure is pilot mixture.  Any guidance would be appreciated.

2011 S40 Raptor petcock. idle screw 2 turns out
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: Stalling during Deceleration
Reply #1 - 06/18/14 at 10:48:56

Common issue,, try raising the idle speed first,