raydawg
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

pacific northwest
Is bigger better?
06/06/14 at 21:19:26

My wife told me today maybe I need a bigger bike......  Huh

I am not sure why she thinks that, other than I guess big bikes seem, uh, what, more real?

Now if I was doing an interstate commute, I could agree, as the thumper gets pushed around and it's at its wits end at those speeds, but I don't.

Of course I am at the small end of the spectrum of all the bikes on the ferry, etc, and I do get a sense of "yours is a toy" bike from some of the piggers, but that ain't enuff to make me cave into my ego/pride.

Am I missing something, is bigger and louder really better?

I know when I started riding about 3 years ago, I thought my lil' Honda Rebel would serve me just fine.
But when I got the s40 I knew I was wrong about the Rebel, its smallness was in fact a liability, often leaving me in a precarious situation due to my misjudgments of traffic, etc.

I know some of you have a lot of riding smarts, years upon two wheels, and you choose to ride this bike, why?

Is the affordability of this bike the draw?
I am not constrained by cost, but I don't want to pay for more than I need either.

Is it the repair-ability of it, where you don't need a slew of support stuff to work on it yourself?

Would you get a different bike if it was readily doable?

Just seeking some input with the hope of clearing up the confusion in my mind, thanks!

“The biggest big business in America is not steel, automobiles, or television. It is the manufacture, refinement and distribution of anxiety.”—Eric Sevareid (1964)
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: Is bigger better?
Reply #1 - 06/06/14 at 21:21:40