Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
front fork minimum width (Read 73 times)
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

South of Chicago, the suburbs
front fork minimum width
05/22/14 at 10:01:35

Hey gang,
Could anyone tell me exactly what is the minimum fork width? I want to run a 450-18 Firestone on the front (no fender) but need to get some numbers to see if it will clear. The 450 section width is 4.8". Ryan said a 450-18 should work in the back but I'll have to hog out the crossbrace. Thanks!
Jeff

Yeah, like I have any clue what is going on....
http://myrycabuild.weebly.com
  IP Logged
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

Re: Thumpin' Special......On The Road Again!
Reply #1 - 05/22/14 at 09:51:31

Ryan e-mailed me as I was asking about running 450-18 front and rear. Here is the e-mail...

If I modded my own swingarm (fully capable) and I wanted to run a 450-18, would the tire rub against the belt? (Chain conversion help?) Would a 450-18 rub on the front forks? (Not going to run a front fender.) The diameter has only a .83" difference with a .59" width difference.
   Jeff

Its a good question, never tried, finding the "true" width of that tire would be key.

You can run a 150-90-15 tire on a stock savage with stock belt, belt is very close but it will work.  That tire is 6" wide for reference.

One of our customers ran one but not sure if he converted to chain or not.

If I were to guess, I would say yes it would likely clear.   Just have to do a big notch in the swing.

Thanks

Ryan

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: front fork minimum width
Reply #2 - 05/22/14 at 10:15:51

Looking at my measurements that I made when getting my fork brace made, it appears the distance between the fat (top) part of the fork sliders is 4.77".