Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Need help removing clutch cover (Read 82 times)
cobra
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Need help removing clutch cover
05/12/14 at 07:34:43

I want to remove the clutch cover to powder coat it but I don't know what to expect. I can see the small chrome clutch lever attach to the cover and don't know If something will pop out of place when I undo the bolts.
Do i disconnect the cable from it, if so it looks like I would have to bend a tang to get it out ??
I need advice please. Also any problems removing the other oil filter cover side. I am new to the savage but I am mechanically incline, don't know this bike yet but I will, thanks for the help  Wink

IP Logged
pg
Serious Thumper

In Transit
Re: Need help removing clutch cover
Reply #1 - 05/12/14 at 07:44:21

Here, this thread talks about the cam tensioner.  You have to take the cover off to get to it.  

http://suzukisavage.com/cgi-bin/YaBB.pl?board=tech;action=display;num=1191167029

I recommend getting a piece of cardboard and putting the bolts through in a diagram so you can remember where they are supposed to go.  Some have gasket washers.  Yeah, the clutch cable has to disconnect.  A small screw driver can open it up.

I don't make the rules, I just know what they are.....

IP Logged
WD
Serious Thumper
2005 No Login

Professional
"scooter
trash".

Rosemark TN
Reply #2 - 05/12/14 at 07:46:01

Oil filter cover is the 3 "floating" hex key head fasteners on the clutch cover. Drop your foot controls and exhaust system or the clutch cover won't come off. The other cover has your alternator in it. I know, it is listed as a wet generator, but, since the bike has a rectifier, the unit is an AC alternator, not a DC generator. Pull the front pulley cover to access all the fasteners.

Oh, if you can't find your 8mm socket, a 5/16" one fits perfectly...