YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Southern Ontario
Re: Why Ride?
Reply #30 - 05/12/14 at 05:51:02

Hey RatDogWillie:
I started riding in 1961 at 20!!!
I also had a SR500 for about 5 years and loved that bike - great handling.  Used to go camping on it with all the gear loaded on the bike.  A real fun bike.  Used to ride it to work every day it wasn't raining and sometimes when it was.
Our Savages have same fun factor.

Modding Madness
  IP Logged
RatdogWillie
Serious Thumper

Nostalgia isn't what
it used to be...

Johnstown, PA.
Reply #31 - 05/12/14 at 07:07:55

walterpump wrote on 05/12/14 at 05:51:02:
Hey RatDogWillie:
I started riding in 1961 at 20!!!
I also had a SR500 for about 5 years and loved that bike - great handling.  Used to go camping on it with all the gear loaded on the bike.  A real fun bike.  Used to ride it to work every day it wasn't raining and sometimes when it was.
Our Savages have same fun factor.

I used to take mine camping in the Shenandoah Valley and Harpers Ferry West Virginia. I loaded all the gear on the bike and headed off for the woods. I also would go out of state to camp in parking lots at Grateful Dead concerts.

There were 3 versions of the bike.....the SR500 - street, TT500- dirt bike (no lights) and the XT - street legal dirt bike.

My second bike was a Sears Mojave 125 (the Honda 50  was my first).
The Sears Mojave had an oil leak in the gasket that went down the middle of the bottom of the engine, which made braking wonderfully exciting. I didn't dare attempt to fix it as I had tried to fix my Honda 50. After replacing the Honda's' piston, I had parts left over when I put the engine back together......the engine locked up when I tried to start it.

So..... I put many miles on the Sears bike even though the top speed was 45MPH....which was okay with me since the back tire was always coated with oil, and every once in awhile... things just fell off and I would have to stop, go back and pick them up.