Send Topic Print
How deep is the hole (Read 164 times)
JunioRebel
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

How deep is the hole
05/01/14 at 11:12:14

So..Been searching through the forums for some answers to why the new to me 2009 Savage I purchased is acting up. It was bought about 3 weeks ago at 4500mi clean body no visible damage. Seemed pretty well kept so I bought it from the 2nd owner who said the wife was forcing him out of the new toy he bought back in October. Bike came with no manual or service records so considering the mileage I figured the most it needed was an oil change ,brakes maybe battery.

Well from the get go the bike had a iffy start. Took a little roll on the throttle to get her going.

On my first real ride a few days after purchasing it suddenly shut off going around 50-60mph after about 20mi and a hour or so of riding. I'm a noob and chalked it up to overheating of a single cylinder air cooled engine. After all it started right back up after a 10min rest. Got her home just fine.

Next the battery turned out to be bad a week later after getting a jump after a rainy day at work and it wouldn't start on the way home. Replaced the battery. Fitted it with some new connections, rubber casings and got it going back as a daily commute.

One day I didn't ride because it was suppose to rain and it didn't so I rushed home after work jumped on and took off for a nice ride in some near perfect weather. I mean who wouldn't

Abt 30minutes in I'm heading up a nice road with a slight hill at 65mph in 4th or 5th gear. Not even 10mi away from home and the bike cuts off and speed drops fast (the hill).

Pull over inspect for leakage ..nada..
engine hot?.. anh  feels warm.
Go to start... starts right up

Put it in gear... Dunp. It's back dead.

This happens whether shifting up or down. And I can't start in gear.