Send Topic Print
Blue Wire blues (Read 122 times)
eppley
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Blue Wire blues
02/09/14 at 15:29:52

Just recently had the engine out. While the engine was out and moving around the bench I broke the blue wire just about where it comes out of the case. Question is can I do without that wire some how. I really don't want to crack the case open if I don't have to. To be honest I would like to get rid of all the darn wires hanging out of the engine. I am no electrician at all. Pls. Help me out here and if there is a way to solve this pls. Explain in a way a rookie at this can figure out and can I get rid of some of the relays and diodes. Thanks in advance

IP Logged
eppley
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: Blue Wire blues
Reply #1 - 02/09/14 at 15:37:09

By the way guys its the single blue wire coming out by the clutch lever

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Reply #2 - 02/09/14 at 15:52:37

That is the neutral light indicator.  When the bike is in neutral the light comes on, the starter is allowed to operate when you push the starter button, and the engine does not shut off if the kick stand is down.

Trying to do away with this feature requires more work than just dealing with this wire.  If you choose to eliminate the neutral light switch you will have to wire it so the neutral light is on all the time unless you remove the bulb - then you will also have to bypass the sidestand safety switch.

The easiest thing to do is fix the blue wire.

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
eppley
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #3 - 02/09/14 at 16:36:24

I figured that would be the easiest I just don't know what that gasket is gonna look like when I pull the case off.  Thanks for the reply

IP Logged
eppley
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #4 - 02/09/14 at 16:38:27