Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Send Topic Print
Lets see if this forum can help me and my savage. (Read 510 times)
Chris99ls650
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Joplin Mo
Lets see if this forum can help me and my savage.
12/26/13 at 12:29:46

Trying to start from the begining. I picked up this 1999 Savage ls650. Guy before me said he rode it around the block a few times when he bought it and heard the timing chain making noise so he shut it down. Hes a friend of mine so i trusted that much. I took the bike and got a aftermarket timing chain tensioner put on it. Ive got the bike back together and it wont start. I have some knowledge on bikes myself. The bike has spark at plug. Cleaned carb twice now with cleaner and compressed air. All jets are clean and are still stock settings. It just cranks and cranks and wont start. Any help would be great. Thanks
I just bought a brand new battery today so im going to see if that helps.
I had it hooked up to my truck with cables but it still wouldnt hit.

Id rather die screaming holy nuts what a ride
  IP Logged
Chris99ls650
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Joplin Mo
Re: Lets see if this forum can help me and my sava
Reply #1 - 12/26/13 at 12:31:21

Pulled spark plug - dipped in fuel put it back in immediatly tried to start and still nothing.

IP Logged
Tempted
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 12/26/13 at 13:27:32

Do you know if the DC solenoid is operating correctly? Have you tried starting fluid? If the plug is good, it has compression and is getting fuel in the chamber then the only other option is timing. Could you have the cam 180* out? Are the lifters in proper shape and operating correctly(pull the top site windows when you turn the bike over)?

IP Logged
Chris99ls650
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Joplin Mo
Reply #3 - 12/26/13 at 13:43:00