Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
How to winterize a motorcycle? (Read 241 times)
Afan

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Des Moines, IA
How to winterize a motorcycle?
11/07/13 at 08:55:10

It's the wintertime and I heard several times from other guys it's time to winterize the bike. I still plan to ride my bike as long as it's dry outside. At least to do some errands. Smiley
Anyway, since this is my first winter having bike, I would like to hear some suggestions, tips and tricks.

Thanks.

IP Logged
doctorpc
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: How to winterize a motorcycle?
Reply #1 - 11/07/13 at 09:24:47

I am a novice rider and what i did was make sure the gas tank is full added stabil in the proper amount   put the battery on a tender and removed the sadlebags to keep indoors  anything else?  oh i intend the change the oil next spring already have what i need for it

IP Logged
Afan

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Des Moines, IA
Reply #2 - 11/07/13 at 09:27:48

doctorpc wrote on 11/07/13 at 09:24:47:
... the sadlebags to keep indoors...

"indoor" means in the garage or inside the house?
My bike is in garage all the time.

IP Logged
ZAR
Serious Thumper

Rock this town! Rock
it inside out!

Kentucky, USA
Reply #3 - 11/07/13 at 10:06:58

I winterize the lawn mower but never the scooter. As long as you're riding every two or three weeks it's a waste of time. Keep up your regular maintenence schedule and as doc says put the battery on a tender(best to have leads mounted to the battery so you can plug in the tender instead of taking the battery out of the bike) and add some fuel treatment to null the ethanol in the fuel.

I'll put 10-15000 miles a year on a bike and a fair amount of that is in our Kentucky winters. I try to ride at least once every week during the winter but that does depend on temps and snowfall.