Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Govt. shutdown and vet/ret pay, soc/disab pay (Read 148 times)
old_rider
Serious Thumper

Backyard Bill
Productions

flordia panhandle
Govt. shutdown and vet/ret pay, soc/disab pay
10/09/13 at 09:12:54

So guys and gals, its getting closer to home now.... I am a retired veteran 23ys. 10mos. and I part of it is disability pay. I am reading and hearing on news channels that some of the payments will not go to the bank at the end of Oct.
So my question is....who else is going to be affected and how.

I am also disabled and receiving soc. disability (soon to stop I hope, I'm getting healthier, but not yet ready for the work force) and hear that my payment on that will stop also... so whats a guy to do?

I hear that HUD is giving out "promisary notes" for disabled vets so they can pay their bills, I might have to go that route if it doesn't show up at the end of this month.

So I guess what i'm saying at the moment is...I'll be completely broke and will not be able to pay anyone if this continues, hope no one else is in this boat.
I will be able to survive for about 3 or 4 months, then the savings will be extinguished and I'll be selling all my stuff to survive.

I love this country and stood to defend it and would do so again, but why are our leaders do this to us?

We are here to laugh at the odds and live our lives so well that Death will tremble to take us.
  IP Logged
MMRanch
Serious Thumper

Evil flourishes if
Good Men do Nothing.

LYNCHBURG TN
Re: Govt. shutdown and vet/ret pay, soc/disab pay
Reply #1 - 10/09/13 at 09:35:11

Well Old Rider

I'm in the boat with ya !  Smiley

32 years federal civil service , medical retired .  

Goverment is stil giving aid world-wide ?    Angry

I understand the park service just bought locks for all the "Out-Houses" allong the Apalation trail , so there must be money out there somewhere !  Undecided