Send Topic Print
Bobber? (Read 333 times)
ylwf3vr

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Oahu, Hawaii
Bobber?
09/08/13 at 22:49:00

I was never a fan of the bobber look in the past. But seeing some pictures on this site and looking on YouTube, I'm kinda liking it a little bit. I'd like to venture out and try it but have no clue where to start.

Saw the "Blue Collar Bobber" site and the prices are hefty. But they seem to offer everything, including DVD for someone like me who needs step by step directions.

So how hard is it convert this bike? Keep in mind, I'm not very good with mechanical stuff.  Embarrassed

2007 S-40: Dyna Muffler, Raptor, K&N Air Filter, everything else stock
  IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: Bobber?
Reply #1 - 09/08/13 at 23:10:06

"Bobbing" is minimalist...  Getting rid of what ain't the heart of the beast...

Start by losing some things... (this part is free)...
Dump the chrome head covers,... dump the belt guard,... smaller (Harley shorty) muffler... dump chrome sissy's, pillion, windshield, saddlebags... chrome doo-dads...
Take all those stickers off yer' bike...
Then,.. the biggies,... (more work and cost)...  smaller rear fender...  smaller seat (ouch)...
... optional... lower the rear of the bike with shorter rear shocks.. (this is more fashion than weight saving)....
Remove the front fender... (you will get wet)...

My bobber is a scrambler... it have minimal weight, but I won't give up comfort... so I added taller shocks and cushioned the seat...

study the bobbers, and see what appeals... all stages are optional...
Just do what you find appealing...
Wink Wink...

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
ylwf3vr

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Oahu, Hawaii
Reply #2 - 09/08/13 at 23:32:34

Serowbot wrote on 09/08/13 at 23:10:06:
"Bobbing" is minimalist...  Getting rid of what ain't the heart of the beast...

Start by losing some things... (this part is free)...